Futurecraft Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Futurecraft Forums

A forum dedicated to communication and innovation!

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in
Welcome, one and all, to the Futurecraft Forums!

reinventing the wheel !=fun, BBS things

Go down 
+4
fr0stbyte124
Buggy1997123
Shiva
Ashenwolf
8 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Ashenwolf

reinventing the wheel !=fun, BBS things Empty
PostSubject: reinventing the wheel !=fun, BBS things   reinventing the wheel !=fun, BBS things Icon_minitimeMon Oct 24, 2011 8:24 pm

B.B.S: Beg, Barrow, Steal Twisted Evil

As a professional java programmer I have some simple advice. Don't re-invent the wheel. You guys are planning a depletion energy system for powering structures and ships, yes? Two words: Industrial Craft. That mod brings allot to the table, and is relatively easy to modify. It covers generators, solar panels and nuclear reactors, in addition to power grid basics. If you can I recommend you beg permission to dissect the mod's code and turn it on its head as your own. Its highly effective and dependable.

For ship crafting i wouldn't recommend Zeplin Modding, that coding logic is still young and not fully stable yet. IMO the best way to start off would be doing it SDK planes style and starting with smaller ships. I don't know how far you have advanced into ship logic, but if zeplin style is working for you, more power to you.

Design with an API in mind (bukkit, Forge, etc) it will save you a lot of headache later.

Program before coding. That's the big one. For programmers in your group they will know what i mean, and you guys are embarking a giant ass project so that statement becomes more and more important.

I'm sure i can think of more but i have to get back to work, but will be watching this mods progress with great interest.
Back to top Go down
Shiva
Admin
Shiva